• The Sound the Sun Makes

    The Sound the Sun Makes
    Product Information

    Price: $15.99

    ISBN: 9780825446863

    Edition: May 18, 2021

    Pages: 352

    Dimensions: 5.5 x 8.5 (inch.)

    Publication date: May 18, 2021

    Format: Paperback

    Imprint: Kregel Publications

    Category: Fiction

    Series: Ballads of Paradise

    Click to View Pricing

    The Sound the Sun Makes

    #2

    Author: Buck Storm
    Literary Americana with humor, heart, and a whole lot of twists to keep readers guessing

    Detective Early Pines loves his southern Arizona desert, often thinking he could stare at it all day long. But now that he's forced to do just that, the truth is the view from his back porch is getting old. He's on mandatory leave from the police department, simply for punching a wife beater who had it coming. Early is in dire need of a distraction from his own loud thoughts. So when an old friend invites him to tag along to a rodeo down in Old Mex, it seems like just the ticket.

    But if there's one constant in the world, it's that life always throws a guy curveballs. With a flat tire, a roadside bar, and a beautiful woman with trouble on her hands, Early's distraction takes a hard right turn--straight to Los Angeles, six hundred miles west.

    Hammott Lamont is waiting there in his own personal hunting ground. The reclusive filmmaker is a veritable cult leader to Hollywood stars--and he's sure his latest project will redefine art history in his image. He's got a plan for a brutal, modernized version of the Christ story, and he's ready to trample anyone who stands in the way of his colossal vision. That is, until big, loud Early Pines hits the coast for a clash of two titans who never saw each other coming.

    Quirky, lyrical, and unexpected, The Sound the Sun Makes offers a warm and sunny side trip for fans of Jimmy Buffett, Carl Hiaasen, and Barbara Kingsolver who long for more of a Christian worldview in their fiction.
    Author: Buck Storm
    Buck Storm is a singer and songwriter in Hayden, Idaho. He's also the author of several books, including Truck Stop Jesus, Through the Holy Land on the Road Less Traveled, and The Miracle Man. Find out more about Buck at buckstorm.com.