• A Cup of Dust

    A Cup of Dust
    Product Information

    Price: $16.99

    ISBN: 9780825443886

    Edition: October 27, 2015

    Pages: 320

    Carton quantity: 48

    Publication date: October 27, 2015

    Format: Paperback

    Imprint: Kregel Publications

    Category: Fiction

    Click to View Pricing

    A Cup of Dust

    A Novel of the Dust Bowl

    Book #1

    Where you come from isn't who you are

    Ten-year-old Pearl Spence is a daydreamer, playing make-believe to escape life in Oklahoma's Dust Bowl in 1935. The Spences have their share of misfortune, but as the sheriff's family, they've got more than most in this dry, desolate place. They're who the town turns to when there's a crisis or a need--and during these desperate times, there are plenty of both, even if half the town stands empty as people have packed up and moved on.

    Pearl is proud of her loving, strong family, though she often wearies of tracking down her mentally impaired older sister or wrestling with her grandmother's unshakable belief in a God who Pearl just isn't sure she likes.

    Then a mysterious man bent on revenge tramps into her town of Red River. Eddie is dangerous and he seems fixated on Pearl. When he reveals why he's really there and shares a shocking secret involving the whole town, dust won't be the only thing darkening Pearl's world.

    While the tone is suspenseful and often poignant, the subtle humor of Pearl's voice keeps A Cup of Dust from becoming heavy-handed. Finkbeiner deftly paints a story of a family unit coming together despite fractures of distress threatening to pull them apart.

    "The author does a great job of giving the reader a feel for those dark days in our nation's history. Very intriguing reading!"
    —Virgil Dwain McNeil, a Dust Bowl survivor

    "The story is excellent and an accurate story of the dust storms."
    —Phyllis M. Wagner, a Dust Bowl survivor
    Author: Susie Finkbeiner
    Susie Finkbeiner is the author of The All-American and All Manner of Things which were both selected as Michigan Notable Books. Her other novels include Stories That Bind Us, The Nature of Small Birds, and the Pearl Spence series. Susie and her husband live in West Michigan with their three children.