• Arrow

    Product Information

    Price: $13.99

    ISBN: 9781621840657

    Edition: April 15, 2016

    Pages: 300

    Publication date: April 15, 2016

    Format: Paperback

    Imprint: Gilead Enclave

    Category: Fiction

    Series: No Ordinary Fairy Tale

    Click to View Pricing


    Book #3

    She swore never to shed blood in violence, no matter how grave the danger.

    But when a faery war threatens her home, the price of peace may be higher than Rhosmari can pay...

    For a thousand years the faeries known as the Children of Rhys have lived in safety on their magical islands, protected from the evils of the outside world. Yet a deadly conflict is brewing on the mainland, as the evil faery Empress gathers an army to destroy the brave rebels known as the Oakenfolk. And when Rhosmari's betrothed Garan steals the sacred Stone of Naming and runs off to help the rebels, she realizes that the only way to keep the Children of Rhys out of the war is to go after him and get the Stone back.

    But the world beyond the Green Isles is stranger and more confusing than Rhosmari ever imagined, and Garan and his fellow rebels are not easy to find. Every step she takes leads her deeper into danger, testing her courage, trust, and even the beliefs she holds most dear. If she refuses to fight the Empress, she could end up dooming the whole rebel army... but if she breaks her oath of non-violence, she can never return to her beloved home and people again. Can her new faery and human allies help Rhosmari choose the right path, or will she only end up pointing them all toward destruction?
    Author: R. J. Anderson
    R. J. (Rebecca) Anderson isn't pretending she's not female, she just thinks initials look writerly. The daughter of a Bible teacher who read Tolkien and Lewis aloud to his children, she grew up daydreaming about Narnia and Middle-Earth, watching DOCTOR WHO from behind the sofa, and hanging out in her brothers' comic book shop. Now she writes novels about knife-wielding faeries, weird science, and the numinous in the modern world.

    Her debut novel KNIFE, the story of a fierce young faery who fights to save her dying people, was longlisted for the Carnegie Award in 2009 and became a UK bestseller; it was followed by two sequels, REBEL (2010) and ARROW (2011), and a companion series about the piskeys of Cornwall (SWIFT and NOMAD). Her teen thriller ULTRAVIOLET (2011) was shortlisted for the 2012 Andre Norton (Nebula) award, and was followed by a companion novel, QUICKSILVER (2013). Her newest book is the magical mystery-adventure A POCKET FULL OF MURDER (Orchard Books, Jan. 2016).